What is a Cardinal Cross: A Primer

So just what is a Cardinal Cross, or Cardinal T-Square?

It occurred to me that while this term, and others, are being used an awful lot these days, that many may not really know what they mean astrologically speaking. So here are some simple explanations of the astrological events taking place, and the terms used to describe them. (NOTE: I have written several posts and articles about the influence of these events and have linked to them in this article).

The twelve signs of the Zodiac are grouped in two primary ways. They are:

1.  By the elements, which most are familiar with:

Fire: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius
Earth: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn
Air: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius
Water: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

These groupings are signs that are 120 degrees apart (the 12 constellations of the Zodiac belt are in the circle, which encloses our solar system.

2.  By “modalities”, a term you may not be as familiar with:

Cardinal: Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn (This modality rules the basic structures of our life. It’s movement is outward and initiatory in nature.)
Fixed: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius (This modality is stable and holds onto the status quo. It’s movement is towards the center and is persistent and determined.)
Mutable: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces (This modality is flexible and changeable and its motion is alternating as it disburses energy between all the signs.)

These groupings are signs that are 90 degrees apart.

So what is a Cardinal Cross vs. a T-Square?
A Cardinal Cross is when there is at least one planet in each of the four signs of the cross. A T-Square is when there is at least one planet in three of the signs of the cross. Both are potent and dynamic events. And now, with more than 3 or 4 planets in these signs, it makes it all the more so (and rarer).

The recent Lunar Eclipse on June 26 was also in Cardinal signs with the Sun in Cancer and the Moon in Capricorn and was very much a trigger for the complex patterns being played out in our skies and the energies they are expressing.

. . . . . . . .

The hoopla about the events this summer, and even into 2011, is that several planets are in the Cardinal signs at the same time. And this is rare, as it is more likely that the ten planets* are spread out between the twelve signs.

NOTE: For a brief explanation of the influence of each of these placements, go to Where Are The Planets Now?, which I update often, as the planets change signs. The links are to longer articles.

Uranus in Aries
Pluto in Capricorn

And on July 21st, Saturn will be joining them in Libra, as well.

August 2010
In the first two weeks of August, Mars and Venus will enter Libra as well (though both the Sun and Mercury will have moved into other signs). And on August 7th and 8th, there will be seven of the ten planets will be in the Cardinal signs, forming a cross. Another date to watch carefully for potent energies and events to take place (more coming on that as we get closer).

* In astrology we include the Sun and Moon, and yes, Pluto, and exclude the Earth which equals ten.

I hope this sheds some light for you as to the meaning of the unusual and powerful events taking place in our skies now.

Many Blessings,


. . . .

© 2010 by Elizabeth Jones. All rights reserved.
Feel free to forward or link this article, but please do so without change or alteration,
and giving credit to © www.astrologyoflight.com & Elizabeth Jones